Personal Day in the kitchen

As a mom and a cook, I spend a lot of time dreaming up recipes that my entire family will eat. Three-quarters of us are very game eaters…it’s the last quarter that kills me every time. And, no matter how much one likes cooking, and you all know I do, the day in/day out grind of a picky eater can kill a person-or at least all their kitchen creativity.

So imagine my surprise the other day when an idea came to me…why couldn’t I take a personal day? Not from my duties as a mom or wife…nice try…but from the kitchen drudgery. Why couldn’t I focus solely on me when cooking dinner? If my husband, son or daughter didn’t love it, well, so be it. There’s always cereal in the pantry.

I went to town feeling incredibly free and looking for inspiration. On my way to the bank, I nipped into Dobbs & Bishop, our local cheese shop. The owner, knowing how game I am for anything food, pointed out that they had just begun stocking truffle butter. An idea started to form…there were two heads of cauliflower in my fridge at home…what if I pureed it with the truffle butter and some other stuff…how bad could it be?

I came home and started on the cauliflower immediately. I cooked, pureed, seasoned and tasted…ooh! So yummy! I grilled us all a steak and made a simple salad and served dinner. So the kids wouldn’t touch the cauliflower- okay, Julia tried it…Harrison just laughed…I didn’t care. This wasn’t about them. It was about me and I was so happy! My personal day- it was a success!

Fabulous Cauliflower Puree
Serves 6-8

2 small heads of cauliflower, cut into florets
½ c grated Parmesan
1 t nutmeg
3 oz truffle butter
1 T unsalted butter
2 t black truffle oil
½ c chicken stock, plus more if needed
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil. Add the cauliflower and allow it to cook for 10 minutes- or until tender. Drain and rinse under cold water.
2. Place the cauliflower in the base of a food processor fitted with a steel blade. Add the rest of the ingredients and pulse to combine until the mixture has the consistency of mashed potatoes. If needed, add more chicken stock ¼ cup at a time.
3. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

