Time to dust (the snow) off the grill…

I have not written much lately because I have been too busy being in a funk for the last few weeks. This winter has seemed interminable. It’s not the cold that I mind- it’s the consecutive days, turning into weeks, of gray, dull light that send me to the loony-bin.

But, in the last week we have had some bright light and brilliant blue skies. The end is near! Sure, we got more snow this morning- but I am optimistically clinging to the notion that we are through the worst of it…the light is at the end of the tunnel and it is brighter and higher in the sky. I will take it!

So, the clearer light and the growing hours of sun have gotten me all excited for spring. And that, at dinnertime, means one thing- regular outdoor grilling. Last week I dusted the residual snow off the grill and decided that it was time to fire it up-charcoal and all. But, what to grill? A trip to Costco proved fruitful. There were beautiful flank steaks aplenty. If I marinated one, I’d be good to go.

I set about thinking about a marinade. The kids love anything with an oriental feel- so I knew that soy sauce, ginger and garlic were no brainer ingredients. The real question was: what would be the base? I thought about ketchup, but we were in short supply-somehow I’d failed to figure that out before the Costco run, natch! Okay, so ketchup was out but a tour of the pantry told me that I had a great deal of canned tomato sauce…hmmm.

With the phrase “how bad could it be,” running through my brain and feeling like a magician making a secret potion, I mixed the stuff together. I marinated the steaks for a day and then grilled them. The children and adults alike loved it. It was delicious and the perfect “springing into grilling season grill.”

Flank Steak Marinade
Makes enough to marinate about 3 large steaks

Mix together in a bowl:

1-15 oz can of Tomato Sauce
1 c soy sauce
2 T brown sugar
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 ½ T fresh finely grated ginger, with juice

Place the flank steak in a ziploc bag, or large, deep pan. Cover with marinade. Let stand in the refrigerator, flipping every 12 hours for 24 to 48 hours.

Prepare a grill to medium high heat. Grill steaks, basting occasionally with marinade for 4 minutes a side. Check meat for desired rareness. If the meat is too rare, let meat rest under tinfoil for 5-10 minutes before slicing and serving.

3 Comments

  1. Posted February 21, 2011 at 10:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    yum, yum, yum — my mouth is watering. i bet the acid from the tomatoes really tenderized the meat. brilliant again, caroline the great!

  2. Chris
    Posted February 23, 2011 at 9:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    My grill (and porch) is still under a frozen glacier…may have to chisel them out to try this.

  3. Laura Barney
    Posted March 8, 2011 at 12:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So happy to be grilling once again. Everyone agreed that this must join the recipe rotation! Thanks and miss you guys, Laura

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

