Bowl of Sunshine

I have had a very serious case of Winter Fatigue. It came on suddenly- about a week ago and boy, has it been strong. I have felt as gray as the skies overhead and my “get-up-and-go” and the bounce in my step have all gotten up and gone to warmer- I hope- climates. Honestly, the only reason I am able to write this now is because the sun is finally really shining and temperatures outside have soared to the mid-40’s. Hallelujah! The end is near!

It has been a grueling winter here in the Northeast and I guess it finally just got to me. But, though I have not been writing, I have been cooking, and eating. We have had some pretty yummy things in the past few weeks. One of those yummy creations, Brazilian Butternut Squash Soup, just has to be shared. It is too good. And, while I can feel the end of winter is near, I know that we will have more days when the wind whips around buildings and cuts you like a knife. When that happens, this soup is the perfect thing to come home to. It looks and tastes like sunshine in a bowl.

Brazilian Butternut Squash Soup
Serves 6
3 lbs peeled and cubed butternut squash
¼ c olive oil
8 cloves garlic, minced
2 medium onion, finely chopped
1 t crushed red pepper
2 t salt
1 red bell pepper, finely chopped
3 c chicken stock
¼ c parsley, chopped
1 bunch scallions, finely chopped
Pepper, to taste

1. Heat the oil in a medium to large saucepan set over medium high heat. Sauté the garlic, onion and crushed red pepper for 2-3 minutes or until onion is soft and translucent.
2. Add the red pepper, butternut squash and salt and continue to sauté the mixture for another 3 minutes or so.
3. Add the chicken stock and stir to combine. Reduce heat to medium-low and continue to cook, stirring frequently, until the squash is soft and cooked through- about 20 minutes.
4. Remove from heat and puree. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve in bowls and top with parsley and scallions.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

