Cod, it’s good!

The sun is shining and the temperature is over 40 degrees Fahrenheit! Hurray! This past week of weather- complete with an ice storm, unremittingly gray skies and sub-zero temperatures- really got under my skin. So, today’s mild temperatures and bright sunshine are a much needed and welcome respite.

But this week, while the weather may have been awful outside, some good cooking did happen inside my kitchen. You all know how I love to grill- well, even I have to admit that weather this bad simply does not permit outdoor grilling. So, when my fabulous neighbors Pop and Pete were coming to dinner and requested fish, I knew I could not rely on my favorite cooking technique. I would have to cook in the kitchen- no outside for me! Not with this winter.

I decided, given this was an adult dinner, to revisit the Cod recipe that had gotten my children all upset-but to tinker with it, substantially. Pete adores caramelized onions. What if I cooked the fish on a bed of caramelized onions? And what if I spiced the Panko crust with jalapeno and cilantro and used saki instead of white wine? This was starting to sound interesting- and perfect for a miserable winter night outside.

I made the fish; we dug into it. It was fabulous- light, yet warm and cozy and perfect for a rainy, cold night. This remade recipe- cod, it was good!

Cod with Caramelized Onions, Cilantro and Jalapeno
Serves 4

2 large sweet onions, like Vidalia, thinly sliced
3 T olive oil
2 lbs of cod filet, cut into individual serving pieces
1 jalapeno, minced
½ c cilantro, minced
1 c Panko
3 T butter, melted
salt/pepper
juice of one lemon
½ c saki
3 pieces of bacon, cooked and crumbled

1. In a large sauté pan, heat the oil over medium high heat. Add the onions, reduce the heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onions are golden brown, about 20- 25 minutes. Place the onions in the bottom of a oven proof casserole.
2. Pre-heat the oven to 400.
3. In a small mixing bowl, mix the jalapeno, cilantro, Panko and melted butter. Season with salt and pepper.
4. Place the fish in a single layer on the bed of onions. Pour ¼ c of saki around the fish. Squeeze the lemon juice over the fish.
5. Pat the Panko mixture on the top of the fish and pour the rest of the saki over the fish. Sprinkle with bacon crumbs.
6. Bake in the 400 oven for 20 minutes, or until fish is translucent and flakes. Serve immediately.

One Comment

  1. Suzanna
    Posted February 6, 2011 at 3:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This sounds fantastic! I’ll try it asap! What did you serve it with?

One Trackback

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tad Smith, cmfitzgibbons. cmfitzgibbons said: Cod, it's good! http://wp.me/pMZqZ-t8 […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

