The Dreaded Phone Call…

Arrgh!! It’s 5:32 am and the phone rings. The caller ID confirms what the sinking in my stomach has already told me. It is the kid’s school calling. No school, or a delayed opening. Either way, more sleep for all. But wait, the recording on the other end of the line is saying something about an early DISMISSAL! It’s dark, I can’t see, I am barely thinking. I am confused, it’s 5:33 am now and my mind is working way too hard. Then he repeats himself. The recorded voice is not calling about a delayed opening- no, an early dismissal- starting at 11 am. Everyone still needs to be at school at their regular start. Now I am fully awake and cranky. Since we all needed to get up at the regular time anyway, couldn’t that announcement have waited until 6 or 6:30 am? I ask you…

And, to add insult to injury after that rude awakening, I am going to get nothing done today. My children come home from school starting at 11 am! It is a crazy but true fact that my children have not had one complete week of school- without a snow day, a delayed start or an early dismissal since before Christmas. Like I said, arrgh!!!!

So, I little time to write! Here’s what I am making for dinner- it’s my sister’s recipe and is yummy and perfect for a snowy, icy night. Toss in some roast potatoes and some roast veggies and you have a home run dinner.

Roast Lamb
Adapted from Lisa Fitzgibbons
Serves 6

Leg of lamb (5-7 lbs bone in or out)
Zest of 1 lemon
3 T Dijon mustard
Several cloves of garlic, peeled and sliced into shards that can be inserted in lamb
Herbs de Provence, either dry or make your own using fresh rosemary, thyme, oregano, and sage, and chop
½ c white wine

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F
2. Place lamb in roasting pan. Insert knife about 1/2″ into lamb at various places around lamb. Insert garlic shards into slits.
3. Salt and pepper lamb. Spread several tablespoons of Dijon mustard over lamb surface. Sprinkle surface with lemon zest and herbs.
4. Roast 20 mins./lb. for rare or 25 mins./lb. for medium. Basting ( I just pour the wine over the lamb) with the wine after about 45 minutes in oven.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

