In which I enter a diabetic coma- happily, turn one, and ask for help…

Today The Dinner Dilemma is a year old! How exciting! In honor of the big day- and because snow just keeps falling (yes, we are in the middle of ANOTHER large winter storm. Seriously people, what is the deal? I really do feel like I am living at the North Pole. Next thing you know there will be a polar bear knocking at the kitchen door asking to borrow a cup of sugar!) I decided to try a recipe for Butterscotch Pudding with Rum Sauce. I have been dying to try it- but felt like I needed a reason because the recipe just looked too decadent to make without cause. The Dinner Dilemma’s birthday, coupled with coping with yet another major snowstorm, was the perfect excuse. Butterscotch Pudding with Rum Sauce would be mine!

So, this morning I shopped for the ingredients and this afternoon I whipped up the pudding and threw together the sauce. I put them both together, took a bite and WOW! I may have to eat the entire batch. I may not share. They are that good. Seriously. The pudding is delicious; and the Rum Sauce is spectacular- the combination, divine. Just check me into the hospital now, because the diabetic coma is sure to follow…but it will have been completely worth it.

The Rum Sauce had me at hello. It is that good. Not to mention, it is versatile. It would be particularly good on vanilla or coffee ice cream with toffee bits tossed on top and about a thousand other ways. Ohh, what I will do with this rum sauce…stay tuned, ‘cause it’s going to be good. In the meantime, I’ll give you the recipe as it was written. And, should you choose to accept it, I’ll give you and assignment…

I have been writing this blog for a year now and I have one issue: I don’t hear from you guys nearly as often as I’d like. I know that you are out there- last night alone over 600 of you read my post about becoming a food terrorist. Yet, the silence is deafening. Your assignment, should you choose to accept it, and I do hope you will, is to send me feedback and ideas. What do YOU want to eat? Make? Think about? How can I help? What works for you…what doesn’t? You get the idea. You can email me, or just comment on posts. Either way, I’d love it!

In the meantime- I give you nirvana…

Butterscotch Pudding with Rum Sauce
Lulu Powers
Serves 10

For the pudding:
5 T salted butter
1 C packed brown sugar
1 ½ t kosher salt
2 c heavy cream
1 c whole milk
1 T Scotch
1 T rum
1 t vanilla extract
1 large egg
2 large egg yolks
3 T cornstarch
Rum Sauce (recipe to follow)
Maldon Sea Salt

1. In a large saucepan, melt the butter over very low heat
2. Add the sugar and salt and stir over medium heat until the mixture is smooth and begins to bubble. Cook for 3 to 5 minutes, or until thick.
3. Slowly stir in the cream. When the cream has been fully incorporated, stir in the milk, Scotch, rum and vanilla. Remove from the heat and set aside.
4. In a small bowl, whisk the egg, egg yolks, and cornstarch together until smooth.
5. Whisk 1 cup of the cream mixture slowly into the eggs to temper them. (this will prevent the eggs from curdling.) Add the tempered mixture back in the saucepan and whisk to combine.
6. Place the saucepan over medium-high heat and whisk constantly for 3 to 5 minutes. When the mixture begins to bubble, turn the heat to low and continue stirring as it thickens.
7. Remove the pan from the heat and pour the mixture through a fine-mesh strainer into a mixing bowl.
8. Cover with plastic wrap to prevent a skin from forming on the top and let cool to room temperature. Place pudding in refrigerator.
9. Divide the pudding among 10 small glasses or bowls and serve with 1 tablespoon of the rum sauce, and a sprinkle of sea salt.

Rum Sauce
Makes 1 ½ cup

1 c packed dark brown sugar
½ c dark corn syrup
½ c heavy cream
4 T unsalted butter
¼ c golden rum
1 t vanilla extract

1. Combine the brown sugar, corn syrup, cream and butter in a heavy medium saucepan.
2. Bring to a low boil over medium-high heat and cook for 10 minutes.
3. Remove from the heat and stir in the rum and vanilla.
4. Let cool to room temperature.

Note: Sauce can be stored in the fridge for up to one month. Just reheat in the microwave or over a double-boiler.

9 Comments

  1. Posted January 27, 2011 at 12:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    you had me at hello — i love it! caroline, you always put a smile on my face when i read your yummy blog. i am constantly in awe that you have the passion and energy (and let’s not forget that you walk a fast 6 miles a day in 2 shifts in between cooking) to pursue such amazing creations. and they are ALL wonderful! even if i don’t cook as often as i would like, your writing is so appealing and provocative, that it makes me want to do it! that’s a start. happy birthday — you are brilliant. don’t stop writing!!!!! XOXO. joanne

  2. Posted January 27, 2011 at 12:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    p.s. all the while being an amazing mom, wife, friend, mentor, sister and on and on! joanne

  3. Heidi
    Posted January 27, 2011 at 9:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love your blog and always look forward to reading about the amazing creations that each entry holds….Happy 1 year Birthday!

    You have inspired me to step up my game in the kitchen….I would like to know what kitchen knives you use and think are the best? I am ready to make an investment in a set of really good knives and would like your opinion.

    Thanks so much!

    Heidi Wodark

    • Posted January 27, 2011 at 11:08 am | Permalink | Reply

      I have the Wusthof Classic Series- though there are several great brands out there. A good kitchen store, such as Williams-Sonoma, can set you up. Once you have good knives, be sure to keep them sharp by washing by hand and using a knife sharpener or a steel regularly. Hope that helps and thanks for reading!

  4. Lisa Fitzgibbons
    Posted January 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Caz,

    Happy Blog Birthday! You’ve done an awesome job! I love a window into your life through the culinary lens. Thanks for sharing all the great recipes and stories.
    XXOO,
    Lili

  5. Miquele
    Posted January 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Cheers to a wonderfull year of great stories and delicious recipes!

  6. Ann
    Posted January 30, 2011 at 7:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Caroline,

    You are great. I love reading about your life and getting cooking ideas simultaneously. So handy!

    Everything I’ve made from this blog has been dee-licious! You have a very lucky family, whether or not they realize it!

    Cheers!

  7. Sara Fusco
    Posted January 31, 2011 at 12:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Happy anniversary! I was delighted to see this recipe posted on the day that my bro (your in-law) was visiting SF and coming here for dinner. However, I have not much experience in the pudding department. It was a bust except for the sauce, which was fabulous. I am unclear where it went wrong – perhaps with the cornstarch, perhaps too long cooking on the stove? One clue is that it did not go through the strainer easily- needed some help to get all of it through. This theme continued and it was too thick when finished. All that being said I love your blog, your recipes and your humor! PS- I can’t believe you do three walks a day 3 miles each- where do you find the time? Those lucky dogs!!! XO, Sara

    • Posted January 31, 2011 at 12:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I am so sorry to hear! I will have to try again, because it worked fabulously here the first time…maybe I was just lucky?! My guess is that it was the cornstarch part that caused you distress! Ugh! Well, hope you had some ice cream for the sauce! 🙂 XO

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

