The Return of the Edgy Veggie

The other day our amazing babysitter Miquele went to our green grocer with instructions to stock up the fridge with fabulous fruits and veggies. When she returned and all the loot was unpacked, I noticed that butternut squash was part of the bounty. “Huh…” I thought to myself, “that’s interesting.” And, then I did not really think about it again. Tad and I were not going to be home for dinner that night, and so Miquele was in charge of feeding the kids.

I came down ready to go out just as Miquele called the children to the dinner table. Though she had not plated their dinner yet, the food was cooked and ready to go: chicken, peas and the most delicious looking squash I had ever seen. I knew that I was headed out to a fabulous meal, but the squash just looked and smelled too enticing. I just had to take a bite. I did and it was heaven…loaded with flavors and zing. I had to exhibit serious self-control to prevent myself from eating the entire batch then and there! Luckily for the kids, there was plenty; and luckily for me, there were leftovers. Three guesses what I had for lunch the next day? Yep, it was all mine and there was nothing left after I got my hands on it!

Brazilian Butternut Squash
Miquele Pizzol
Serves 6
1 ½ lbs peeled and cubed butternut squash
3 T olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, finely chopped
½-1 t crushed red pepper
1 t salt
½ red bell pepper, finely chopped
¼ c water
1 T parsley, chopped
1 T scallions, finely chopped
Pepper, to taste

1. Heat the oil in a medium saucepan set over medium high heat. Sauté the garlic, onion and crushed red pepper for 2-3 minutes or until onion is soft and translucent.
2. Add the red pepper, butternut squash and salt and continue to sauté the mixture for another 3 minutes or so.
3. Add the water and stir to combine. Reduce heat to medium-low and continue to cook, stirring frequently. If the mixture begins to dry out, add an additional ¼ cup of water and continue to cook, stirring frequently, until the squash is soft and cooked through- about 15-20 minutes.
4. Remove from heat and let stand for 3-4 minutes. Add parsley, scallions and season with pepper to taste. Serve warm.

One Comment

  1. Posted January 24, 2011 at 10:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    okay, just took the squash off the stove and it’s half gone already. the husband took a taste, i had to try it as it went along, the son grabbed a piece or two. can’t wait to see if there’s anything left for dinner! fantastic! thanks to caroline AND Miquele.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

