Of lemons, lemonade and such…

This afternoon I walked my dogs. No big deal, I walk them at least twice a day-some times even three times, three miles a walk, every day, no exceptions- not even blizzards. But, today was different. Today was exciting. Today for the first time in weeks, the temperature was solidly in the mid-40’s and I did not have to worry about black ice. WAHOO!

I am a New England girl, and proud of it; but, this New York winter is killing me. It’s not because I mind the snow and cold- I don’t. It’s the hassle of everyday living in these conditions that gets old: the black ice everywhere, the slush and cold icy puddles in parking lots, the lack of parking spaces because the snow piles have taken them over. This is the stuff that makes me cranky.

I could blame my attitude on the six years I spent living in sunny So Cal- I must have turned soft with all that balmy beach air. I could, except, I know plenty of other hearty souls that share my lack of fondness with this winter. Unfortunately for all of us, it’s only January 19th. Party on.

But, I am an optimist. And so, yesterday, as the sleet fell on me (and my pups) during our morning jaunt, the adage: “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade” rolled through my brain. The thought of lemons immediately made me think of other citrus, which in turn took me directly to grapefruit. I just love a good grapefruit. And, all of a sudden it dawned on me, I had found my own private small-albeit, very small- glass of lemonade: bad weather or not, winter is the season for great grapefruit. I might not love all the stuff that comes with winter, but I love a good grapefruit.

All this lemon and grapefruit imagery coursing through my brain put a bee in my bonnet (or, more appropriately, my ski hat!) and an idea started to form. Could I take a basic Sole Meuniere recipe and adapt it-losing the lemons, but using my lemonade, grapefruit? Well, I made it and tried it for lunch today. It was divine-almost as great as the walk with no black ice!

Winter Sole
Serves 2

½ c flour
sea salt/pepper
4 fresh sole filets, about 6 oz each
6 T unsalted butter
2 t grated grapefruit zest
6 T freshly squeezed grapefruit juice
1 grapefruit, peeled, pith removed and sectioned
2 T parsley, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 200.

Combine the flour, 2 teaspoons salt and 2 teaspoons pepper in a large shallow baking dish (I like to use a pie plate.) Pat the fish dry with paper towels and sprinkle with a bit of salt. Dredge two filets on both sides in the flour mixture.

Heat 3 tablespoons butter in a large sauté pan over medium heat until it starts to brown. Add the fish to the pan with the hot butter. Lower the heat to medium-low and cook for 2 minutes. Carefully flip the fish with a spatula and cook for 2 minutes more. While the other side cooks, and 1 teaspoon grapefruit zest, 3 tablespoons grapefruit juice and half the grapefruit sections to the pan. Carefully put the fish on an ovenproof plate and pour the sauce over the fish.

Keep the fish warm in the oven while you repeat the process with the remaining fish. When the fish is finished, sprinkle both plates with parsley, salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

2 Comments

  1. Susan T
    Posted January 19, 2011 at 5:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OK, this is crazy that you just posted this. I literally just sat down at my computer to send you a message inquiring whether, despite the wintry weather you are lamenting, you might offer a recipe for an out-of-state reader who is picking more lemons than she knows what to do with from her lemon tree in California…?!?!

    I log into Dinner Dilemma and what do I find? A blog titled Lemons, Lemonade, and Such? Shirley, this was meant to be! But lo, the recipe does not use lemons, understandably, so perhaps you could still indulge me?

    X Suse

  2. Posted January 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Suze- You can easily adapt- just change the grapefruit juice and zest to lemon! Presto-chango- you are good to go!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

