Leftovers from heaven…

On Tuesday, with an overnight blizzard almost a certainty, I decided that I would cook a dinner that would provide leftovers for our snowy Wednesday. Roast chicken felt like the right warm and cozy meal for such a stormy night. Plus, at lunchtime the next day, there is nothing like chicken leftovers in your fridge!

I must have gone to bed thinking about the leftover chicken and its’ many possibilities, because the notion of chicken salad entered my conscience overnight and coursed through my brain for what felt like hours. By 7 am, when I got out of bed, I was absolutely desperate for chicken salad and lunchtime. There was only one question remaining to be answered: what kind of chicken salad?

A trip to the fridge proved fruitful: scallions, fresh tarragon, lemon, grapes, celery. I could work with this. I mixed a bit of mayonnaise with lemon juice and tarragon and added a hint of minced garlic. I added the cut up chicken, grapes, celery, and scallions. I seasoned the lot with salt and pepper. Then I waited until Noon. I would savor this sandwich- that much was sure.

High Noon found me toasting some yummy bread and topping it with the chicken mix, fresh arugula and tomato slices. I bit in. After a night spent dreaming of chicken salad, this open-faced gem was nirvana! I would savor every bite. Julia wandered in and asked for lunch. Bad mother that I am, I shooed her away and continued my reverie. Only after eating my entire sandwich did I get around to making one for everyone else in my family! They loved their lunch and not a morsel was left when all was said and done.

The moral of this story is that dreams, however simple, can come true.

Snow Day Chicken Salad– serves 4

2 c chicken, shredded or chopped
1/3 c mayonnaise
juice of 1 lemon
3 T fresh tarragon, chopped
1 garlic, minced
8 scallions, white and light green parts only, sliced thin
1 c grapes, halved
2 stalks celery, diced
sea salt/pepper to taste

Mix the mayonnaise, lemon juice, garlic and tarragon together. Pour over other ingredients. Mix well. Season with salt and pepper. Serve on thick, crunchy, toasted bread and top with arugula and tomato slices.

One Comment

  1. Lisa Beach
    Posted January 13, 2011 at 6:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE your blog, Caroline! The food is to die for, but the way you bring us into your home in such a warmly inviting way….THAT’S what I love about your posts. You make us feel like family, and THAT is the most important thing! The first thing I open in my Email is YOUR post…you are a gem!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

