The Bears Have The Right Idea…

As I woke up this Monday morning in the dark-a gloomy start to a cold January day for sure- it hit me: bears have it right. They eat a lot in the fall, take a big nap and wake up in the spring. This strikes me as an incredibly reasonable way to exist right about now. We can just forget about all this snow, (12 inches more expected on Wednesday!) cold and gloom and just sleep. Perfect.

The only problem is, humans don’t hibernate. Drat! So, I guess we have to come up with another solution to the January blues. And. though my body is unable to fulfill my hibernation dream, I find I do crave the food that screams hibernation: beef stews, pastas with rich sauces, mashed potatoes-anything carb loaded and cozy!

One of my favorite “I really should be hibernating, but I can’t” foods is Fondue. It is easy as pie to make and everyone from two to eighty-two loves it. Plus, it has a high fun quotient, which definitely helps the January blues! You can make fondue and serve it with just bread cubes or you spice up your dipping by adding cut up fruit- like apple and pear wedges-sausages, prosciutto, nuts and vegetables like asparagus, artichoke hearts, mushrooms, steamed new potatoes. In short, whatever you like can become a vehicle for fabulous melted cheese.

So, dust off that fondue pot you got for your wedding- you know, the one that’s down in the basement buried in a storeroom somewhere- and go make some fondue. As you sit by the fireplace, eating fondue and laughing with your family and friends, you’ll be glad- at least for the evening- that you can’t hibernate.

Swiss Fondue
Serves 10-12
6 oz Emmentaler cheese, grated
6 oz Gruyere cheese, grated
6 oz Comte cheese, grated
1 T cornstartch
2 ½ c dry wine
4 cloves garlic, crushed
3 T Kirsch liqueur
¼ t nutmeg
sea salt/pepper

1. In a mixing bowl, toss the grated cheese with the cornstarch.
2. Place the wine and garlic in a medium saucepan over high heat. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 2-3 minutes.
3. Gradually whisk in the cheese, one handful at a time, stirring until each addition is completely melted and smooth.
4. After the cheese is al melted, add the Kirsch, nutmeg and season with salt and pepper.
5. Transfer to a warm fondue pot and serve immediately.

One Comment

  1. Suzanna
    Posted January 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my gosh. This is my favorite fancy meal from childhood. You totally took me back. I MUST make this immediately!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

