Meet Georgie

Have you ever had the feeling that you are living a middle school word problem? I never have until today, when it occurred to me that my week is, in fact, a word problem. Just listen…

Last night I hosted the 19 moms from Julia’s class for a Mom’s Night Out. Tomorrow two different families, who live far away and are dear friends, come to have dinner and spend the night, adding 7 under our roof. Sunday, they are (happily!) all still here and another family of 6 comes and joins us for lunch. Sunday night we lose the family of four and are down to just three visitors. Tuesday morning the family-of-three depart just in time for my husband’s stepfather and girlfriend to arrive that afternoon. Oh, and my fabulous nephew from college shows up too, sometime Tuesday, I think. (Like most 18 year olds, he hasn’t been too good about communicating the details…but I think he’s coming. At least his mom says he is.) Wednesday morning our dear friend Zanna and her family arrive for Thanksgiving and the weekend. Thursday I cook for a zillion. Friday my sister and her kids come.

So, what did I do today? I did what anyone who has a week like that in front of them would do. I got a new dog. Yeah- just up the ante and throw in another variable for a little algebraic fun!

But I have to say, the new pooch is fabulous. She is an almost 9-month-old Portuguese Water Dog who flunked her breeding test, thus needing to be spayed and find a great family. She is chocolate-brown with a white chest, housebroken, (alleluia!) crate-trained and amazingly calm and sweet. We are all besotted. Even Rosie, our 9-year-old dog, approves of the addition. You could have knocked us all over with a feather with that news! So, meet Georgie…she’s a doll. And, in honor of her arrival we had take-out, so no recipe today! Catch you tomorrow with something good!

4 Comments

  1. Sara Fusco
    Posted November 19, 2010 at 9:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Super CUUUUUUUUTE!
    OMG!
    Lisa will tell you that I love the pooches especially the well-behaved, smart ones.
    Enjoy your girl!
    XO, Sara

  2. Suzanna
    Posted November 20, 2010 at 10:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t wait to meet Georgie! Pictures?

  3. Susan
    Posted November 20, 2010 at 7:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    She is gorgeous! I love those dogs! Have fun with her and all your visitors..

  4. Mari
    Posted November 22, 2010 at 12:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    very cute… a very lucky dog!
    Quick question: I am in charge of bringing sweet potatoes to Thanksgiving dinner (got out of hosting this year!) Do you have a good recipe to share? Can you send to my email address? I am determined to get all the ingredients today and NOT be caught at the store again this week! (ha,ha) Happy Thanksgiving and thank you so much for your time. Mari

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

