EZ BBQ

Tonight we slummed. There was no gourmet happening here- but golly was it good! It was also an amazingly kid-friendly dinner. A complete homerun. So good that Julia begged to take it to school tomorrow for lunch. And, how sad was I that a desire to lose a few pounds kept me from diving in too? Ugh, too sad to properly express! My salad just wasn’t nearly as satisfying as my kids empty plates. I tell you, what I sacrifice for glamour.

So what was this mystery dish? What could be so bad but so good? Well, in theory, according to a very literal definition, I cooked. But the reality was much easier than actual cooking. You see, I have been looking- now that fall is upon us and my schedule is crazy-for recipes and ideas that use my slow cooker. There is nothing better than putting dinner ingredients in a slow cooker, turning it on, and coming back 4-8 hours later to a tasty meal. And, if your kids will happily eat it all- heaven! So, a few days ago, when my friend Susan told me about one of her kid’s favorite meals: pulled pork in the slow cooker, I pressed her for the recipe.

Now, this is where it gets interesting…she laughed at me. “There is no recipe,” she chided. “You just use plain old Kraft BBQ sauce. But, you can’t go and get fancy with the sauce…stick to the bare bones stuff. Kraft works. Take two pork tenderloins, put ‘em in the slow cooker, set the thing on low, pour the whole bottle of sauce over it and come back 3 ½ hours later to shred it. Give it another half hour or so, put it on a bun and watch your children wolf it down.” Wow. I stood there disbelieving. Could it really be that simple and that good?

I vowed to give it a try. Susan even brought me a bottle of Kraft Original BBQ Sauce to get me started. She is a true pal! I followed her directions exactly. I even emailed her once or twice this morning just to be absolutely sure I had not missed something. But, none of that was necessary. At 2 o’clock I pulled out my slow cooker, set it on low, put the tenderloins inside and poured the gift bottle of sauce over the pork. I walked away and didn’t come back until 5:30 when I shredded the pork. At 6:15 I served dinner and silence ensued. They were too busy eating to make noise. Talk about a rabbit in the hat! This dinner is a magic act-it will completely disappear, but your day will not!

E-Z BBQ for the slow cooker
Serves 4 adults

2 pork tenderloins
1 bottle of Kraft Original BBQ Sauce
4 buns

Place the tenderloins in the slow cooker. Cover with the whole bottle of sauce. Set the cooker on low for 4 hours. About a half an hour before you want to serve the pork, shred it with two forks and let it continue cooking in the sauce. Serve on buns with coleslaw if desired.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

