Who knew?

Last Tuesday, before my cooking class arrived, I made a crudité and placed it on the kitchen table for my students/victims to nibble on while I cooked. I didn’t think anything of it. It was your basic crudité-carrots, celery, asparagus, yellow peppers and my favorite dip- a curry, yogurt, mayo mix. But, when the gang dug in, the raves piled on. Refrains of “What’s in this?! This is fabulous! Do we get this recipe too?” went round the table as the dip was passed.

To say that I was surprised at all the fuss over such a simple dip was an understatement. In fact you could have knocked me over with a feather. I knew the dip tasted good, but golly! And, I was unprepared. See, the crazy thing was I didn’t really have a recipe. Sure I had a list of ingredients I used to make it- but, I just always sort of made it up as I went along: a dash of this here, a taste of that there. You get the idea.

Yet, the crowd, led by my friend Alex, clamored and pleaded and would not let it go. And so, this weekend found me in the kitchen mixing, measuring and tasting to get the amounts right so I could deliver on my promise and give them (and you) the recipe so you all can make this in your house too! So, for Alex, with love, here is Caroline’s Curry Dip. Enjoy!

Caroline’s Curry Dip
1 c light mayonnaise
1 c Fage 0% yogurt
1 T ketchup
1T minced red onion (I use a grater to get the red onion very fine)
2 t Worcestershire
2 t curry powder

Mix all ingredients together. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.
Note: the curry flavor will deepen as time goes by.

2 Comments

  1. Sara Fusco
    Posted September 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t wait to try this! I love curry so this is right up my alley. I am always loking for something at tiddly time (Fitz word) so this will work. And by the way- Happy birthday and congrats on teaching your first cooking class! One of many to come I am sure, if the women in Bronxsville have anything to say.

  2. Alex
    Posted September 27, 2010 at 3:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Caroline, you always deliver. Thanks, girlfriend. And to all of you out there, this is a must try! It’s so easy, and so delicious. It’s the perfect veggie dip.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

