Ahhhchoo!

Talk about Murphy’s Law, I knew as I typed my birthday post that I was tempting the health gods. No sooner did I post about having healthy children than Julia developed her first cold of the school year. Ugh! We did not even make it through a complete school week before a sick day! Drag-ola.

So, before you can say October, we are into soups that make you feel better when your head feels like it is about to explode and your throat is itchy and scratchy. Luckily my Julia loves a good soup. She also loves food with a little kick- and soup with a kick is the perfect remedy for a fall cold.

One of my favorite fall and winter soups is Carrot Ginger. It is quick to make, delicious- and if you do it my way- good for you too! Trifecta! And, perhaps the most amazing part of the whole equation is that everyone in my family likes it! Whether it is the sweetness of the carrots, or the familiarity of them, no one ever complains when this soup is set before them. So, while I certainly don’t want more than our share of colds, I am prepared. I have remedies that taste good to all ready to go! Note: the only trick to this is deciding how “gingery” you want your soup. For small children I recommend only 1 t of grated ginger, for adults who enjoy a kick, more.

Carrot Ginger Soup

Serves 6
2 T olive oil
2 medium all purpose onions, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1-3 t fresh ginger, grated (depends on how spicy you want to make it)
1 lbs bag of baby carrots
6 c chicken stock
3 -4 medium boiling potatoes, or 6-7 small creamers, chopped into 1” pieces
salt and pepper to taste

1. In an large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat and add the onions and garlic. Saute for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Reduce the heat to medium-low and add the grated ginger and continue cooking for 3 more minutes. Add the carrots and, stirring occasionally cook for 7-10 minutes until carrots just begin to soften.
2. Add the chicken stock to the carrot mixture and return the heat to medium until the stock begins to simmer. Return the heat to medium low and allow the mixture to simmer for 10 minutes.
3. Add the potatoes and cook until both potatoes and carrots are tender.
4. Puree, season with sat and pepper and serve.

One Comment

  1. Chris
    Posted September 24, 2010 at 7:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey CC, not sure if I have sent you this before; check out this blog http://www.gothamgal.com/
    Kinda similar to yours but expands beyond food to other goings-on, what you’re reading etc etc. Maybe some ideas there.

    Love C.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

