A Resolution and Toast to Me…

Today is my birthday. I am midpoint in a decade. And I have to say, I don’t mind it a bit. In fact, as I pondered the gravity of turning 45 in bed last night, I realized that I kind of like it. Sure, I’d love to be ten pounds thinner and with a few less wrinkles, but honestly, life is really good. And here’s why…I am easier in my skin than ever before. I am healthy and active with passions that I have the luxury of being able to pursue. I have amazing friends and family that support me and adore me. My children are healthy and happy. They are young enough and healthy enough that their problems (not that my perfect darlings have ANY mind you…but if they did) are small potatoes and can be managed. I have a wonderful husband who makes me laugh and pushes me in the best possible ways to be more. I am content. Honestly, I am not sure that I could have said (and meant!) all this at any other time in my life. And here’s the thing of it- most of the time I forget all this and find something to moan about.

I got started thinking about all this yesterday when I said, “have a good day” to the checkout girl at the drug store in town. She replied, ”hey, I woke up above ground, so I ain’t complaining.” And, while I appreciate her sentiment that it could be worse- because it always could be worse-I think that finding and remembering the positive is a great way to go…if you can. Sometimes willing yourself to smile makes all the difference. So my resolution for my last half of this decade is to try harder to remember how good it all is in the big scheme of things and to take those lemons and make lemonade whenever possible. It is easy to set the bar low- to just be glad you woke up alive…it’s a lot harder to get out there and really live.

So join me and let’s toast my birthday and my resolution with, what else, a Lemon Drop Cocktail! Happy birthday to me!

Lemon Drop Cocktail– Serves 6

2 c vodka (I use Grey Goose)
½ c freshly squeezed lemon juice
½ c super fine sugar
2 T triple sec

Combine the vodka, lemon juice, sugar and triple sec in a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake well. Pour into martini glasses and serve immediately

4 Comments

  1. Katie
    Posted September 16, 2010 at 11:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    Happy Birthday, Caroline!

  2. Martha
    Posted September 16, 2010 at 5:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Happy Birthday, Caroline!

  3. Julie
    Posted September 18, 2010 at 5:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Happy Birthday Caroline! Lemon drops are my favorite – hopefully we’ll have a chance some time to have one together!

  4. Chris
    Posted September 19, 2010 at 9:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Belated happy bday, Aunt CZ.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

