Crazy for Cauliflower

I have been in a cauliflower frenzy lately and Jonathan Waxman (yes, the Jonathan Waxman) is to blame. While vacationing in France with us, he made the most delicious gratin of cauliflower and onions. It was heavenly and sinful but, it was vacation so all that French cream, cheese and butter didn’t count, did it? Now that I am home, I have not dared to add the good (I mean bad) stuff that made his creation so spectacular… what’s not to love about a vegetable that is also a heart attack waiting to happen?

But, Jonathan’s brilliance got me thinking about cauliflower again as a canvas. It is white and sort of boring- but gosh you can do good things to it if you put your mind to it! And, so, since we returned from France, I have been playing with cauliflower and trying to turn it into an Edgy Veggie Hall of Famer.

Perhaps the easiest, and most popular way, according to my gang of eaters, to prepare cauliflower is simply to roast it tossed in good olive oil, sea salt and pepper. I roast it in a 400 oven for 45 minutes to an hour- or until brown and caramelized. Then I stand back and watch as it is devoured. Truly, it is to die for, super easy and good for you. How can you beat that? If you have not tried it this way- please do. You will be happily surprised and my guess is that it will disappear like junk food!

My other version comes to me via my fabulous Outlaw (my sister’s sister-in-law, got that?) Sara in San Francisco. It is a roasted cauliflower with spices and it is delicious. The trick here is not to over cook the cauliflower so that you maintain the yummy flavors. It is divine and I think will earn a place in your Edgy Veggie Hall of Fame as well!

Sara’s Caramelized Cauliflower

Preheat over to 375.

Mix in a small saucepan:
4 T butter, melted
Zest of ½ lemon
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1 t cumin
sea salt and pepper

Cut one head of cauliflower into pieces- not too small. Drizzle sauce on cauliflower. Toss and roast for 30 minutes. Toss and bake for an additional 15 until cauliflower is starting to brown.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

