The rumors of my demise have been greatly exaggerated…

Well hello there! Remember me? Probably not. Just call me Caroline, your not so faithful food blogging friend. You know it is bad when your 11 year old niece calls you and asks you-ever so politely- just what you have been doing instead of blogging and oh, by the way, could you get off your duff and write something already! She is right. I have been terribly out of touch…but, summer beckoned and what more could I do but answer its’ call?

And, a wonderful summer it has been. We have had many adventures in this house- not the least of which was sending Harrison away to camp for 4 weeks….Tad, Julia and I made it through-but just barely. Harrison had a ball. Since then we have gone to the beach- fabulous- and come home again-not as fabulous, but fine because we knew we had more fun stuff coming. And then, we embarked upon our piece de la resistance- a trip to the French Alps to hike and play with our dear friends Amy and Craig and their family. Think The Sound of Music with waterskiing, French wine, cheese and no bad guys and you pretty much have our trip. Heaven!

Now that I have explained my absence, I am sure that you will forgive me. I was very busy all along the way coming up fabulous ideas for my cooking (aka eating very well) and I promise you that you will reap the benefits from my travels and “research” in the coming months!

So we are back home- but I can’t quite close the door on summer. Summer still has a little juice left in her. So, to celebrate this last delicious little gasp of summer, I recommend splurging a little on a Lobster Club Sandwich.

I had my first Lobster Club in Los Angeles in the early 90’s. I was in my 20’s, from the Northeast and the thought of having lobster in any way other than steamed with butter and lemon was pure sacrilege. Then, I had a bite of a friend’s lobster club. I was immediately transported! The combination of a simple lobster salad with bacon, tomato and arugula all on delicious toasted bread was just too good. I have made them every summer since and they are always greeted with cheers by my family and guests; not to mention me, because they are drop dead easy!

So, splurge a little! Embrace this end of summer! Remember, soon it will be snowing and 28 degrees outside. You’ll be glad you made the most of summer and you’ll love every last bite!

Lobster Club Sandwich– serves 4

For the lobster salad:
1 lbs lobster meat, chopped
about 3/4 c (more or less depending on your taste) mayonnaise
juice of 1 lemon
sea salt/pepper
1 T chives, chopped of 1 T basil, chopped (optional)

Mix all together in a bowl. Set aside.

For the sandwich:

8 slices bacon, preferably Applewood Smoked, cooked
1 avocado, peeled and sliced
2 ripe tomatoes, sliced
Arugula
your favorite bread, sliced and toasted
Mayonnaise

1. Spread a small amount of mayo on the toasted bread to moisten. Add the lobster salad, 2 pieces of bacon, avocado, tomato and arugula. Cover with second slice of bread. Serve immediately with potato chips and a green salad.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

