Sweating it out, lightly

What a hot and steamy weekend we had here in New York! Wow! It felt more like Atlanta in August than New York City in June! It was too thick and muggy to even spend the evenings on our porch with the ceiling fan roaring. So, it goes without saying that I was thrilled to have a wave of thunderstorms blow the heavy air away on Sunday evening. By 6 pm yesterday, the Canadian breezes were flowing and everyone rejoiced.

Given this weekend’s hot and sticky weather, (not to mention an amazing meal that I had on Friday night at a fab NYC restaurant, but that’s for a different post) it should come as no surprise that grilled fish and light foods ruled the dinner table on Saturday as we struggled to cope with the heat. That afternoon I took a trip to my favorite produce place- Hutchinson Farms for all you locals-and told Michael (aka The King of Produce) that I wanted nothing but summer lightness. Michael did not disappoint. He steered me toward some brilliantly ripe honeydew and orange flesh melon. There had to be something unexpected and delicious I could do with it. The question was what. I popped next door to the fish market and the swordfish was beautiful. I immediately bought some. Still I pondered the melon. What to do? Then it came to me…melon salsa on top of grilled swordfish. Why not? How bad could it be, after all?

I brushed the swordfish lightly with olive oil and grilled it over a moderate fire for 4 minutes a side. Then I made it amazing! I topped it with the melon salsa. OOH! How fabulous it was! This dish could not stop the heat- but boy, did it helped cut it. The salsa was cool and spicy at the same time and absolutely delicious in every bite. Michael was right- the melon were the perfect foil for the oppressive heat of the day. And, this salsa has earned a premier spot in my summertime cooking!

Melon Salsa– serves 4 to 6 with fish or chicken
1 ½- 2 cups ripe orange flesh melon, diced- about ½ a melon
2-3 c. ripe honeydew melon, diced, about ½ a melon
2/3 c. cilantro, chopped
1 ½ jalapeno, seeds removed, finely diced
½- ¾ c red onion, finely chopped
2 T lemon juice
3-4 T olive oil
salt and pepper, to taste

Mix all ingredients together. Is best made several hours ahead so that the flavors can blend and meld.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

