Just Peachy

We are fully in the throes of summer here- at least according to the thermometer! The weather has gotten warm- so warm that often at night all I want is a cool and fresh green salad. And, I am a very lucky girl, because a friend and fellow foodie who knows my love of all things green and homegrown brought me fresh lettuce from her garden. How great is that? There is nothing better than a salad made from homegrown, picked that day, greens. It is salad eating the way it was meant to be and so often isn’t any more.

So last night, I took my fresh greens and I made a lemon vinaigrette. Then I added to my salad bowl thinly sliced radishes, julienned fresh basil, chunks of avocado, thin sliced red onion, parmesan, yellow pepper, lightly roasted almonds, and- the best part, the one that screams “summer is here”-a sliced fresh peach. I dressed the whole bowl with some of the vinaigrette and a dusting of Maldon Salt and ooh, was I oh, so, happy! So, I urge you to take a page from my summer salad book and buy some peaches. Let them ripen on the counter- and then, add them to a salad. Whether your lettuce is homegrown or supermarket bought, a peach in a salad is transformational. Nothing scream summer quite as much!

2 Comments

  1. Penny
    Posted June 5, 2010 at 6:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    That sounds delicious – I’m definately going to try it!

  2. andy
    Posted June 10, 2010 at 7:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    sounds peachy! love it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

