How to have it all: sun and fun and a yummy homemade dessert

Is it Monday already? Oops! It’s Tuesday! How did that happen-oh yeah, the spectacular Memorial Day weekend we just had, that’s how. And, in my little corner of the world, this past three-day weekend was truly spectacular, both in terms of weather and events. It was too fun by half and boy, as my alarm chimed at 6:15 this morning, did I wish I had another day off!

One of the highlights of the weekend was a family dinner invitation to Pop and Pete’s. We all agree in our house that there is nothing better than dinner with Pop and Pete. It goes without saying that I was making something- the question was what. Dessert was requested- no problem-but, I was not going to miss any of the fun to make this dessert happen. On a weekend like this, with azure blue skies, strong sun and temperatures in the 80’s, I wanted a sure-fire, fast yet crowd pleasing dessert. I turned to an old friend in my kitchen: Brownie Chip Pie.

I first made Brownie Chip Pie while still on college and ever since it has been a faithful kitchen ally. This is the kind of dish you find every once in a blue moon and rejoice in. It is so simple you can make it in 5 minutes (30, if you count the 25 minute baking time) but so elegant and delicious, people think you slaved. I wish that I knew its’ provenance so that I could give credit where credit is due, but I cannot for the life of me tell you where this recipe is from. I thought that it was a Sarah Leah Chase recipe- but alas, I have checked, and it is not. So, all I have is a recipe scribbled in my college shorthand on a grimy and yellowed piece of paper in my recipe files. And, while I can’t tell you who invented it, I can share it with you. I know that whoever created this recipe would love that I am passing it on. It is just that kind of dessert! Try it- you will love it for it’s ease and your guests of all ages will love it for it’s taste!

Brownie Chocolate Chip Pie– serves 8-10
Preheat the oven to 350.
Grease a 9” spingform mold.

Mix together in a large mixing bowl:
3 extra-large eggs
1 ¾ c sugar
1 T Cointreau
1 c flour
½ c cocoa
½ t salt
¾ t baking powder
½ c melted and cooled butter
½ c mini chocolate chips

Spread mixture in prepared springform mold. Bake 25 minutes until set. Let cool to room temperature. Just before serving frost with Cointreau Whipped Cream.

Cointreau Whipped Cream
2 c heavy cream
1/3 c confectioner’s sugar
3 T Cointreau

Mix cream with a mixer fitted with the balloon whisk attachment. As the cream begins to thicken, add the sugar and Cointreau in small amounts. Whip until the cream forms peaks. Frost the pie with the cream, saving any extra for your coffee with dessert.

4 Comments

  1. Posted June 1, 2010 at 4:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Chocolate and orange – what a fabulous combination!

    I play chef around the house, so this recipe will be an addition to Found-at-Wordpress. Bookmarked! Come see my own blog at http://draaiorgelfan.wordpress.com about Dean Martin on NBC-TV.

    Cheers from Ralph!

  2. Posted June 1, 2010 at 5:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Pop & Pete loved this Pie!! It was so great.
    It was almost all gone and then we saved a little piece for a friend who came over on Memorial Day.

    This was a great way to kick of the holiday and start the summer!
    Luv,
    Pop

  3. Betsy L
    Posted June 1, 2010 at 10:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    How yummy – and how funny – I know where you got it! It is adapted from a recipe from PETER CHRISTIAN’S RECIPES – a cookbook of a GREAT tavern in Hanover, NH that is sadly no longer in existence. It is also delicious with vanilla ice cream and a raspberry Cointreau puree.

  4. Day B.
    Posted July 13, 2010 at 5:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    LOVE this one! Reminds me of when you used to make it for us back in Dover…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

