Bake-O-Rama

I am sorry to have been so absent this week; but, after two straight weeks of houseguests, I had a to-do list a mile long. Not to mention the school commitments. What is it about the end of the school year? They just KILL you with “must attends”. There are plays and recitals and concerts and events galore. It is goofy. And, speaking of commitments tomorrow is the annual Bake Sale at our Elementary School. It is the time for all bakers to strut their stuff in the form of cookies, pies, cakes and all things caloric. Now, take a wild guess about who was silly enough in September to agree to organize it? You got it- me, that’s who. What was I thinking?

Okay, so here we are on the night before the big event and my ovens are burning up! We have baked cupcakes, brownies, and my favorite lemon bars. Now all I have to do is man the sale tomorrow and hope there were other eager bakers too! Not much to ask at this crazy time of year, right? I am sure that I will be inundated with volunteers and cupcakes! At least, I can dream I will be!

My Favorite Lemon Bars
Adapted from The Barefoot Contessa

For the crust:
2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
½ cup sugar
2 c flour
½ t salt

For the filling:
6 extra large eggs, at room temperature
3 c granulated sugar
2 T grated lemon zest (4-6 lemons)
1 c freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 c flour
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

For the crust, cream the butter and sugar until light in color. Combine the flour and the salt and with the mixer on low, add to the butter until just mixed. Dump the dough onto a well-floured board and gather into a ball. Flatten the dough and press it into a 9x13x2” baking sheet, building up a ½ inch edge on all sides. Chill.

Bake the crust for 15-20 minutes, until very lightly browned. Let cool. Leave the oven on.

For the filling, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice and flour. Pour over crust and bake for 30-35 minutes until the filling is set. Let cool to room temperature.

Cut into desired shape and dust with confectioners’ sugar.

One Comment

  1. Susan T
    Posted January 19, 2011 at 6:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmm… I may have found a solution to my over-abundance of lemons!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

