Meat on its’ bones…

What a beautiful weekend we have had here in the New York area! And, our weekend was even better because Debby Leggat is in town and boy, does a visit from Debby Dearest make this whole household happy. “Who is this wonder visitor?” you ask. Debby is a fabulous “almost-cousin” from Massachusetts. I can hear you now: “what the hell is an almost-cousin? “ You see, her aunt married our uncle- that is why she is an “almost-cousin.” The good news is that everyone is better for this creative family tree!

Last night Debby drove in the drive just as our amazing neighbors Pop and Pete came for an easy kitchen dinner. Pop’s real name is Donna- but because she can make a popping sound with her cheek and finger, my children have christened her “Pop.” So, “Pop” she will be forever in this house. Anyway, dinner was a kickback affair with everyone in our kitchen while I cooked and they gabbed around me. How fun is that? For me, it does not get better.

For dinner I made a meaty fish- literally. I combined halibut with pesto and prosciutto and the results were wonderful. (Note: I did not make the pesto-I could have, but I was short on time and so did the next best thing- I bought it from our local butcher shop. He makes it fresh and freezes it and it is what you would expect- basil, olive oil, pine nuts, garlic, salt, pepper and Parmesan. ) But, whether I made it all or not, the dinner was fabulous and perfect for the evening. How could it miss? Dinner was comprised of fabulous food and fabulous, special guests. And while the mood was light- we were perfectly happy to talk about the meaty stuff that makes life life. The kids were over the moon to have three of their favorite people in the house at once- and, honestly, Tad and I felt the same way.

Meaty Halibut with Pesto– serves 6
3 lbs of halibut fillet, skin removed and cut into 6 pieces
¾ c pesto
12 large pieces of prosciutto
4 T butter

1. Preheat the oven to 450.
2. Take the fish fillets and using a basting brush, brush both sides of the fish with the pesto sauce. Wrap the fish in two pieces of prosciutto, adding a tablespoon of pesto to the fish before closing the prosciutto.
3. In a large frying pan that can be moved in to the oven, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Place the fish in the pan a sauté for 2 to 3 minutes. Flip the fish and sauté for 2 to 3 minutes.
4. Take the entire pan and place it in the oven and cook for 6-10 minutes depending on the thickness of the fish. You will know when the fish is cooked when a knife goes in to the center easily and without resistance.

One Comment

  1. Kristen
    Posted May 18, 2010 at 4:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks delicious!! I think the prosciutto and pesto may coax my fish averse family to give it a try.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

