Calgon, Take Me Away


Today was a blur. It was chocker-block with appointments that moved me from one place to the other…to the city, then home, to other suburbs, to kids things, to doctors, grocery stores, PT people and vets. It was the kind of day in which you barely catch your breath, and, when you do, you realize that there are about a million things you really should be doing instead of breathing. At that point you just wish you could be on a foreign beach- basking in the sun with not a care or responsibility in the world. But, before you know it, your cell phone rings, or a child screams, and your reality comes back to you with a dull thud.

So, back to my crazy day…on my quick city jaunt to my PT person, I was able to find a perfect parking spot right by Fairway and Citarella. It goes without saying that I got a ticket (not because I did not put enough money in the meter, I did) but because I had forgotten to get our car inspected in April, and, oh, it’s already May. Like I said- that kind of day. Anyway, at Citarella I bought yummy, shelled shrimp to grill and I decided that if I could not lie on a foreign beach, I could certainly capture the flavor of one at dinner.

An idea started to form-think Jimmy Buffet in Hawaii. But, this dinner needed to be a no-brainer because I was done before I started. I was shooting for fabulously tasting, Island-esque, but super easy. And, because I had two ripe avocados, I wanted it to be great with an avocado salad.

Thus, Calgon Shrimp was born-a homage to the fabulous commercials of yore. This shrimp will make you dream of beaches and warm trade winds. It will cure the craziest day. It certainly did so for me!

Calgon Shrimp Marinade

1 c. pineapple juice
½ c. canola oil
½ c. good quality dark rum
1 jalapeno, minced
½ c. cilantro, roughly chopped

Mix all together. Marinate shrimp for 1-4 hours in refrigerator.

To make the shrimp:
Prepare a grill to medium hot. Place the shrimp on the grill and grill for 3 minutes a side. Serve immediately.

One Comment

  1. Miquele
    Posted May 6, 2010 at 10:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I left today whishing I could have stayed longer-just to try it!….LOL. It sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try it.
    Love your blog.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

