Brought to you by the letter P…

My children adore pasta. They would eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Every now and again I, too, want a pasta fix. But, when this happens I want to aim for a pasta that everyone in the family will eat-and my idea of good pasta and theirs is definitely not the same. They are happy with red sauce from a jar; I most definitely am not. But, I have discovered that both Harrison and Julia love a good cream sauce. And, if I can make a pasta with a cream sauce that they will eat and I will eat and I find some way to get something green in there as well- that is perfection at the dinner table!

As a result of my never ending search for an answer to The Dinner Dilemma, I was intrigued when I happened upon a recipe on the web for Pasta with Prosciutto and Peas. My kids eat Prosciutto and they eat peas…this could be a winner. But, the recipe looked a tad bland and a tad heavy. One pint of heavy cream with no other lighter liquid just seemed too intense a sauce for me. So, off to the kitchen I went. I tried the recipe as written today at lunch. While it wasn’t as heavy as I feared, it was too heavy for me. So what did I do? I made it again, immediately, my way. I have never done that before- back-to-back recipe tinkering- and I have to say, it was very effective.

So, here is Pasta with Prosciutto and Peas tinkered with. I hope you enjoy! Julia has given this a two thumbs up- Harrison was not home to try it yet. So, I am cautiously optimistic that I have a winner here. Let me know what you think!

One note: Please do not be put off by the funkiness of ginger in this recipe. I know that ginger is not usually an ingredient in pasta; but it added a nice zip, without being overpowering. I felt that red pepper flakes would be too much for my guys to handle. For an adult dinner, I would use ½ -1 t. red pepper flakes.

Pasta with Prosciutto and Peas– serves 4
5 cloves garlic, minced
3 T olive oil
¼ inch thick slice of imported Prosciutto, diced (about 1/3 of a pound)
4 shallots, finely chopped
1/4 t. freshly grated ginger
½ lbs fresh peas (can use frozen)
¼ c. dry white wine
1 c. heavy cream
½ c. freshly grated good quality Parmesan
½ c. fresh mint, chopped
salt and pepper
¾ lbs orechiette pasta

1. Bring a large salted pot of water to boil and cook pasta as directed.
2. In a heavy saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat and cook the garlic for 2 minutes until just beginning to color.
3. Add the prosciutto and cook for an additional 3-4 minutes.
4. Add the shallots and ginger and and cook for 3-4 minutes to soften, season with salt and pepper.
5. Add the peas and cook for 2-3 minutes. Be careful not to overcook the peas- you want them to retain some texture.
6. Add the white wine and bring to a boil. Add the cream and cook, stirring constantly for 1-2 more minutes. Add the Parmesan.
7. Drain and rinse pasta. Toss pasta with sauce and add the fresh mint. Serve immediately.

One Comment

  1. Suzanna
    Posted April 25, 2010 at 5:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The Triple P Power Pasta! Sounds yummy!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

