Dem Bones

My Julia discovered a new culinary delight this past family vacation. She discovered the joy of barbeque ribs- or as she calls them “Saucy Bones.” We were out to dinner in Naples, Florida, at my parent’s club-of all weird places to discover barbeque-and it was Pub Night. Harrison ordered the ribs and Julia was intrigued, but she demurely ordered the oh-so-safe pasta with red sauce. When dinner arrived, it took Julia all of one second to ask her brother for a rib. Because he is kind, and because I glared, he gave her one. It was love at first bone. The pasta was forgotten and she immediately begged for her own plate of ribs-which we quickly had the kitchen rustle up for her.

There is something so primal about chewing on a bone. You either love it or hate it; though, I have discovered that most people do, in fact, love it-even if they won’t admit it. It brings out their inner caveman. And, since our days- or at least my days- as a forager/hunter/gather type consist of a trip to the butcher shop or the grocery store; I have to work to put bones in my eating purview. But, when I do, I love it. And, ribs are the ultimate bone experience.

Ribs are also incredibly easy if you do them in the oven (375 for 1.5 hours and you are golden!) And, there is no need to make your own barbeque sauce- store-bought sauce has come such a long way that it really is a great option! I regularly use D.L. Jardine’s Mesquite Barbecue Sauce, and spend my time on sides like homemade coleslaw and rhubarb-cinnamon muffins and everyone is oh-so-happy.

So, break out the Wet Wipes! Get some Saucy Bones in your Spring retinue. You won’t be sorry. Use store-bought sauce if it makes your life easier. Or, if you must, make it yourself. Whatever you do- let your inner caveman sour! You won’t regret it!

And, for a side, I heartily suggest my rhubarb-cinnamon muffins. They are fabulous with this and many other Spring and Summer dinners-and they have the added benefit of being awesome the next morning too! Twofer! Gotta love that!

Rhubarb Cinnamon Muffins

375 oven

In a large bowl, add and combine well:
2 eggs
1 c. sugar
¼ c. oil
½ c. plain yogurt
1 t. vanilla
1 ¾ c. chopped rhubarb

In a smaller bowl, mix lightly with a whisk:
2 c. flour
2 t. baking powder
½ t. baking soda
½ t. salt
1 t. cinnamon

Combine the dry ingredients into the wet ones and place into lined muffin pans. Fill each cup about three-quarters full. Bake for 25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

