A Zebra Named Bob

I have been unable to get into a groove, unable to get anything done since returning from vacation. And I know the reason-or at least, most of it. You see, for the last 8-10 weeks, we have been renovating my study and our master bedroom. Over vacation the work finally finished. So, where’s the bad news in that? Nowhere-unless it is somewhere in a packed box or grocery bag in the hallway between my guestroom and my study.

The guestroom is where I have been temporarily office-ing (and sleeping) while the work was being done. Everything important was in the guestroom-but the desire to start using my new space immediately was strong. So what did I do? I tried to be in two places at once without fully unpacking or moving. So, how has this strategy worked out for me? It has been a complete and utter failure!

Today I realized the error of my ways and actually spent a couple of hours moving and organizing my stuff. Tad may die when he comes home tonight and sees that I have files in the file drawers with labels and that the corresponding paperwork is in said files. And, he will die when he walks in to the guestroom and sees that there are no longer piles of papers on the floor. What’s more, I actually know where things are! I can find something if you ask me to! Bully for me! I have to tell you, I feel much more settled and less stressed out as a result of this afternoon’s investment in organization. The living in two places was KILLING me! Plus, I was sure that something big was going to be lost or some important ball dropped. That may still happen, but at least I feel like I made an effort to prevent it!

Anyway, one of my favorite parts of my new study is the floor covering- a zebra skin rug which my children have lovingly christened “Bob”. Bob the Zebra makes my day. I just love him and I love that my guys have named him “Bob”. It just tickles my funny bone. So, Bob was right there under my feet as I was thinking about what to make for dinner. I looked at him and thought of flank steak. Rude I know, but true. I was standing on his flank-it just came to mind. So, tonight we are having yummy marinated flank steak in honor of Bob.

Flank Steak Marinade

1 c. soy sauce
1 T. olive oil
1 T. red wine vinegar
1 T. minced ginger
4 cloves garlic, finely chopped

Mix all ingredients together and marinate steak at room temperature for 2 hours- or refrigerate for longer. Prepare a grill to medium high. Grill steak 4 to 5 minute a side for medium rare or until desired doneness. Be careful- this will cook quickly!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

