Goldmine!

You have to love it when you find a good, really easy, and really quick recipe to add to your repertoire. It happens so infrequently that it is practically like winning the lottery-at least to me. Tonight I won the Powerball!

My day was crazy- I zoomed from one place to the next. Around 4 o’clock I realized that Tad had a business dinner-it had been on my calendar but I hadn’t focused. My kids begged for pasta. So, for dinner it was just going to be me. “Ah ha!” I thought, “the perfect night to play in the kitchen!” But, of course, this all came to me at 4:15 pm. (Note to self- somehow, you have to get better about this food-planning thing.)

So, 4:17 pm found me going through the stacks of recipes I have cut out from here or there. But, tonight I had an agenda- looking tasty was not enough; you had to look fast and easy too! Tough criteria, I admit. That said, there was one recipe that jumped out at me- Chicken Paillard with Curried Oyster Mushrooms. It met all the criteria, though at 4:25 pm (the time I stumbled upon the recipe) it was clear to me I was going to have to tweak it to even try it. My local market is only so good, and there was no time for traveling far afield. But, most of the ingredients were already in the house; all that I was needed was the chicken and the mushrooms.

So, I beat a path downtown to the butcher for thinly sliced chicken breasts and then the grocery store for the closest thing to oyster mushrooms I could find-shitake was the best I could do-but hey, one designer mushroom is as good as another in a pinch, right?

Ten minutes later I was home and studied the recipe again…chicken, mushrooms, sweet curry powder, fresh basil, garlic, scallions…it all sounded great-but I sensed something was missing. This was heavy on the spice, without the balance of any sweetener…wine, fruit, cream, etc. I thought about my options and golden raisins jumped out at me. That’s what this dish needed. And, they were the least caloric-always a plus!

So, I whipped it together-truly, this dish takes 10 minutes tops to make and then 15 to bake. Once it came out of the oven I dove in. It was truly fabulous! This is the perfect quick yet sophisticated fare for an adult dinner. Sadly, it is too challenging for most children’s palates-but all in good time! This dish is a great option though for times when another family is coming for dinner and the kids are going to have pizza. The adults can tuck into this, and you will look like a superstar-which of course you are! Another plus is that you can make the mushroom mixture in advance- meaning that there is zero prep time. Like I said, POWERBALL!!!

Chicken Paillard with Curried Shitake Mushrooms– serves 4
Adapted from Eric Ripert
450 oven

2 T olive oil, plus more for greasing the pan and drizzling
2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, halved again to make 4 thin chicken pieces
1 ½ t sea salt
freshly ground pepper
1 ½ t sweet curry powder-good quality, like Penzes
7 oz shitake mushrooms, thinly sliced
3 T fresh basil, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
4 scallions, white and green parts only, thinly sliced
1/3 c golden raisins

1. Preheat oven to 450. Grease a baking sheet with olive oil. Place chicken on baking sheet and season well with salt, pepper a pinch of curry powder. Drizzle chicken with a little oil.
2. In a bowl, toss mushrooms with curry powder, salt, basil, garlic, scallions, raisins and 2 T oil.
3. Spoon equal amounts of the mushroom mix on each piece of chicken. Bake until the mushrooms are golden and the chicken is cooked through, 15-20 minutes.

2 Comments

  1. Kristen
    Posted March 24, 2010 at 9:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds delicious! And I love the photo. It’s so nice to see what the dish is supposed to look like.

  2. Forest
    Posted March 24, 2010 at 9:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I LOVE THE PHOTO!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

