Lunch Bunch

I have a confession to make.  One of my least favorite “Mommy jobs” is making box lunches for school.  I realize that it is strange for a foodie to admit that she hates making food.  But, in my mind, lunch box fare is different.  It is assembly line-esque food that my children can eat in 20 minutes or less.  It must be served cold-unless I do soup, which requires a thermos, spoons, advance planning and is usually far too much trouble for an average weekday.   And, it requires variety-because not even a 5 year old wants to eat the same thing every day.  The icing on the cake is that this is prepared at 7 in the morning every school day from September to June, as I struggle to get both children up, dressed, teeth brushed and fed, while I simultaneously inhale caffeine.  Oh, and did I mention that both my children dislike traditional cold sandwiches? Yes, they like to challenge their mom!

So, after months of sending in salami and cheese, plain bagels with cream cheese and yogurts, I started experimenting with sending slightly edgier lunches.  As I packed the first few of these, I made sure to include plenty of fruit and pretzels, just in case my innovation was met with resistance.   Lo and behold, my kids ate it all up and even requested it again!   One of the favorite “new” lunches is my tuna fish in a wrap.  It is equally good on sliced bread-but my guys resist traditional bread.  Anyway, give it a whirl- see what happens!  If they don’t like it- I guarantee you will.  It’s fabulous on toast with avocado and arugula!

 

Caroline’s Tuna Fish

2- 7 oz cans of Solid White Albacore Tuna packed in water, drained

2 T mayonnaise- or as much as you like to moisten the tuna to your taste

Juice of one lemon

3 T fresh basil, chopped

3-4 T red onion, chopped

¼ c cherry tomatoes, quartered

Salt/pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients together- using as much mayonnaise as needed to bind the salad together to your liking.  Season with salt and pepper.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

