The best laid plans…

Have you ever had a hang-over that took a while to get going, but when it did, look out?  That’s the way I felt about “Springing Forward” this year.  I don’t think that loss of an hour properly hit me or my family until this morning.  And then, boy, it was a doozy! 

We were all tired, but coping, when the dreaded call came in- Harrison’s school was cancelled today due to downed trees and electric wires from Saturday night’s storm. It isn’t that I don’t love my boy- but drat!  He and I would be spending Monday together, whether I planned on it or not. The one silver lining in this scenario was that I could sleep in.  Julia did not need to be at school until 8:30 and I normally rise at 6 on school days to make sure that Harrison makes his 7:25am bus.  WAHOO!  I can sleep in!  Oh, the excitement! 

So, I rode that excitement wave for as long as I could…I stayed up way too late reading a wonderful book- Let The Great World Spin by Colum McCann.  If you have not read it- I completely and wholeheartedly recommend it.  That said, I would NEVER have stayed up as late as I did if I thought that there was a chance of anything other than a long sleep.  Well, we plan, God laughs….isn’t that the saying?  So true, at least for me, this morning. 

At 5:07 am Julia popped into our room.  That would be my Julia, who normally needs to be jack-hammered from bed.  And, 5:07 was really 4:07.  How could this be? 

“Mama, I’m awake.  I’m hungry.” 

“Julia,” I grunted, “it’s still the middle of the night.  You have to go back to bed.”

 “No, Mama.  No.  I don’t want to.”  The negotiation was on.

“Then climb into bed with Daddy and me.”  She climbed over me, making sure to poke and prod every available part of me she could find.  She settled between us.  She tossed; she turned.  Sleeping with the spin cycle of a washing machine might have been more soporific than sleeping with Julia.  I rubbed her back.  I smoothed her hair.  I spooned her.  Just as I got her settled and her breathing started to slow, Tad’s alarm sounded.  6 AM- really 5, if you think the way I do.  He hit the snooze- but she was up.  There was no snoozing for my girl!  Ten minutes later, the alarm screamed again.  Again, more Julia. 

Finally, I relented.  I would get up, feed the dog, feed her, get the papers in and curse my hubris from the night before.  Hadn’t I learned that you can’t game the system when it comes to kids?  What was I thinking?  So, I did what anyone would; I made a fab breakfast of Buttermilk Waffles.  It helped take the pain away- if only slightly.

Buttermilk Waffles

2 c. flour

2 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

½ t salt

3 T sugar

2 eggs

3 c buttermilk

fresh blueberries (optional)

Mix dry ingredients together.  Add eggs and buttermilk.  Mix until combined.  Fold in blueberries, if using.

One Comment

  1. Posted March 26, 2010 at 2:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have “World spin” on my stack of to-be-read; you have pushed it to the top. Thanks.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

