It’s all about kale these days…

The other day my friend Sarah (She’s a faithful reader, too!  Hi Sarah!) mentioned to me that she had bought some kale.  “You know,” she said, “it’s all about kale these days.”  I did not know.  I must have missed that memo.  Anyway, she went on to say that she had roasted it and it was delicious.  At this point, I was listening politely thinking- “UGH, no thanks,” when suddenly I thought I heard her say that kale roasted tasted almost like potato chips.  “Huh?  Wait, POTATO CHIPS!  Did I just hear kale and potato chips in the same sentence?”   Now she had my attention.  So, because I will do anything for a good potato chip-let alone a healthy alternative to one- and because I am committed to my edgy veggie experiment, I went out and bought kale yesterday. 

I brought my kale home- and with apologies to kale lovers everywhere-I must admit that it did not look like something that would taste good.  It definitely looked like something that would be good for you though.  Funny how that “taste good/good for you” correlation seems to work inversely.  Anyway, I washed my kale; cut the leafy part into ribbons about 1 inch thick, and threw away the stems.  I placed the kale leaves in a large mixing bowl and tossed them with olive oil, making sure to really massage the oil into all nooks and crannies.  I added sea salt and pepper and spread the kale out onto a large baking sheet.  I popped it in a 425 oven for about 15-20 minutes, or until it crisped. 

Meanwhile, Tad came home and was immediately suspect of the idea of kale as a vegetable in any form, let alone as one that receives billing as a potato chip alternative.  “Yeah, and I’ll sell you the Brooklyn Bridge. What else is there?’ he asked.  “Oh ye of little faith!” I chided him, and then, I assured him that there was also a salad.   So, as I pulled the baking sheet out of the oven, I was invested.  If this was awful, I would not hear the end of it for a while.   The kale was deep green and brown and very crispy.  I took a bite and was oh, so surprised and happy.  While saying that it tasted like potato chips might be a reach, it was delicious.  We all loved it!  Of course my children did not know what they were eating- remember, this is the house of food PR- they just thought that the Krispy Krunchies were great! 

So, a big shout out to my friend Sarah for the edgy veggie tip!  And, I must concur; it is all about kale these days!

3 Comments

  1. Raye
    Posted March 10, 2010 at 4:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Neat – Now I just have learn how to recognize kale in the grocery store!

  2. Betsy L
    Posted March 11, 2010 at 12:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    True – it is a delicious way to eat kale – an excellent vehicle for olive oil and sea salt…!

  3. Posted March 11, 2010 at 11:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love kale but would never dreamed of making it like this! Who would have guessed? Maybe I can entice my guys to eat it this way! Thanks!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

