Gong Xi Fa Cai and Hurray for Dean & Deluca!

Today I had to go into the city to buy Chinese New Year paraphernalia for Julia’s kindergarten class.  I know, I know, Chinese New Year was ages ago…but the school vacation and her teacher’s maternity leave got in the way.  So, we are just now getting around to Gong Xi Fa Cai!  Better late than never! 

Anyway, I was in Soho, on the edge of Chinatown, on my way to buy red envelopes, faux firecrackers, and lanterns for the big Chinese New Year parade on the playground, when I realized that I was incredibly close to a food Mecca- Dean & Deluca’s.  Ooh!  How exciting!  I had chalked this trip up to be all about getting the kindergarten class mom job done…suddenly it became a treasure hunt about ME.  What could I find that was fabulous for dinner?!  How my mind raced.  I urged myself not to get too nutty….just go and see what looks good, I told myself.

It is worth noting at this point that my husband Tad requested something very light for dinner.  So, fish was on my mind.  I bought my lanterns, faux firecrackers and red envelopes and made a bee-line for Dean & Deluca’s-thinking the fish counter would be my first stop. 

The fish counter did not disappoint.  It showcased the freshest, most beautiful Dover Sole- even the guy behind the counter was enamored.  I bought a pound and some spectacular baby arugula and headed home, oh so happy.

Tonight we had Sole Meuniere…so lemony and light and fabulous.  We also had an amazing salad of baby arugula with red onion, fennel and parmesan shavings….heaven!  We are on the moon with delight this evening!  Oh, that it could be several weeks past Chinese New Year every week! 

 

Sole Meuniere– serves 2

1 lbs. fresh Dover Sole fillets

½ c flour

2 t sea salt

1 t. freshly ground pepper

6 T unsalted butter

grated zest of one lemon

6 T of lemon juice- juice of about 3 lemons

2 T of fresh parsley, finely chopped

  1. Heat 3 T butter in a large sauté pan over medium heat until it begins to brown. 
  2. Meanwhile, combine flour, salt and pepper in a large shallow bowl or baking dish. 
  3. Dredge the sole in the flour mixture. 
  4. Place as many fillets as can comfortably fit- usually 2- in the sauté pan and cook on medium-low for 2 minute. 
  5. Carefully flip the fish, sprinkle with lemon zest and 3 T of lemon juice.  Cook for 2 minutes more. 
  6. Repeat with the second 2 fillets.  Serve immediately.
Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

