The breakfast, lunch and dinner of champions

I am a weirdo when it comes to breakfast.  While others love eggs, toast, jam and cereal, I prefer foods you normally see at dinnertime.  Some of my favorite morning foods are the remains of last night’s dinner: leftover steak, grilled chicken, fabulous stinky blue cheese on thickly sliced salty toast- totally weird morning food.  Oh, and just to seal the deal, I don’t drink coffee.  I can hear you thinking: she is a breakfast lunatic!  Just commit her right now and throw away the key!

I wasn’t always this way.  In high-school and college I breakfasted like everyone else.  I think that I started to turn goofy in my thirties with the advent of children in my life.  Maybe it was the sleepless nights with an infant…I don’t know, but, somewhere along the way, I realized that I craved protein in the am more than anything else.  Now, the problem with most acceptable breakfast foods is that they are heavy on the carbs-not protein.  Eggs are the typical protein choice for breakfast.  Yet, I have to confess; I find eggs rather dull.   And, I easily burn out on them. 

So, what’s a girl who craves protein to do besides last night’s dinner scraps?  Well- I have another solution- one that is perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner.  In fact, it might just be my favorite all-around food.  I keep thinly sliced chicken breasts marinating in my fridge and I sauté one whenever I need it- breakfast, lunch or dinner.   These chicken breasts are the perfect food: light on calories, heavy on taste.  My children love them-so they are a great easy dinner for all.  Toss one on a salad and you have a great lunch or dinner.   And, they make a mean breakfast when placed on a wasa cracker!

Lemon-garlic chicken

8 thin sliced chicken cutlets

½ c. freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 c. olive oil

6 cloves garlic, minced

sea alt and pepper

Mix lemon juice, olive oil, garlic and salt and pepper together.  Place chicken cutlets in a Ziploc with marinade.  Refrigerate.  Sauté as needed.

4 Comments

  1. aunt fred
    Posted March 1, 2010 at 6:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I obviously have much in common with you as long ago convinced myself that leftover cold spaghetti from last nights part was great in the morning….and will now definitely add your chicken to the fridge…..lol

  2. Posted March 1, 2010 at 8:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ah ha… the secret is out Caroline! But the question I want to know is….do you still drink diet coke in the morning???? Sorry everyone, but that’s kind of an inside joke between Caroline and myself…..

  3. Raye
    Posted March 2, 2010 at 10:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is such a great common sense idea and is exactly the kind of cooking information I need! — short, quick and easily remembered – even for me! Many thanks! XO

  4. Margaret
    Posted March 2, 2010 at 4:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    My mouth is watering as I read this. However, I am not a breakfast/dinner kinda gal. When the boys were little, I tried to push a dinner of pancakes and bacon one night….needless to say it was not received very well. Can’t wait to make this…and so simple…lemons are my favorite.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

