Edgy Veggies Continued

The other day the green grocer had beautiful baby artichokes.  They were small, fabulously green and very fresh looking.  Now, if you are like me, you look at the beautiful baby artichokes and think: “They are so pretty, but what on earth will I ever do with them?”  And then you buy lettuce.  But remember, I am trying to think outside the box with respect to veggies.  So, instead of passing them by, I threw down the gauntlet, bought the artichokes and headed home to figure out just what on earth I was going to do with them.

One of the beauties of a baby artichoke is that the entire thing is edible.  There is no choke and the leaves are so tender that you can just pop the whole thing in your mouth, chew and swallow.  Cool, huh?  So now I just had to figure out what to do with mine… 

I looked in several cookbooks and found many recipes for braised baby artichokes, but that did not feel right for my mood and the rest of the meal.  I was grilling fish and serving it with a fruit salsa.  I did not want a “saucy” veggie.  So then I thought- hey, I’m grilling the fish-why not the baby artichokes too?  Which is exactly what I did to rave reviews!   One note: because baby artichokes are still artichokes, they take a while to cook.  In order to get them tender, you need to par boil them for a few minutes before grilling.  Grilling alone will not cook them all the way through.

Grilled Baby Artichokes– serves 4

12 (or more!) baby artichokes

olive oil

sea salt

pepper

Bring a large pot of water to boil.  Trim ends of artichokes, take off any very tough outside leaves and cut the artichoke in half lengthwise.   Boil artichoke halves for 8-9 minutes.  Place immediately in a ice water bath to stop cooking.  Let artichokes drain.  (I placed mine upside down on a cooling rack)

Meanwhile, prepare grill to medium hot.  Toss artichokes in olive oil, salt and pepper.  Place on grill, cut side down.  Let artichokes cook for five minutes or so before turning.  Keep rotating artichokes until they are crispy on the outside and tender on the inside- about 12-15 minutes.  Can be served immediately, or at room temperature.

One Comment

  1. Julie Tye
    Posted February 26, 2010 at 5:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can’t wait to try this!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

