The healing power of chocolate

It is still February- if only for 3 more days-and it is snowing again here.  Snowing a lot- and it’s gross, heavy, wet snow.  We are supposed to get more snow than anyone needs.  And honestly, nobody needs anything-except maybe a beach.   At the school early dismissal-I told you, it is snowing a lot- everyone says the same thing “I am done with this weather and this winter.”  Now, I know that we are on the short strokes here.  How do I know this?  It certainly isn’t because of the weather or even the calendar.  No, I know this because-drum roll, please- charcoal showed up in the seasonal aisle at Costco this week.  WAHOO!  And, Costco would never put out a seasonal item before it’s time!  So the end is near.  Costco told me.

But, here we are-stuck in a blizzard again.  What to do?  Well, I don’t know about you, but my kids and I need a little love in the form of chocolate.  I have some good baking chocolate in the pantry, some cream in the fridge.  Perfect for hot fudge sauce on a cold dreary day.  We are going to have ice cream sundaes and live large!  Don’t worry, I’ll be back to spa cuisine tomorrow.  I want to live large, not actually be it!  After all, Costco promised me that Spring is just around the corner!

Chocolate Sauce

1 c.,  plus 2 T. milk

11 oz of good quality semi-sweet chocolate

½ c., plus 1 T. heavy cream

2 T. unsalted butter

¼ c. sugar

pinch of salt

Simmer milk with chocolate, stirring until the chocolate is melted.  Add the cream, the butter, the sugar and salt.  Simmer the mixture, stirring constantly, until  smooth and slightly thickened.  Serve immediately.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

