Solo Sole

I was getting my daily fix reading the NY Post the other day and Page Six (the gossip column for all those of you who aren’t addicted lucky enough to get the Post) reported that Tom Cruise, Katie Holmes and Sumner Redstone dined together in LA.  They all had the sole.  My first thought was, “what a waste of a good restaurant …”  but, then I considered the fact that the Cruises and Mr. Redstone probably eat out all the time and obviously -in the case of the Cruise couple-have to watch their waistline.  As I pondered the eating habits of famous people, light and yummy sole crept into my brain and just would not leave.  While I love sole, I typically consider it “girl cuisine” perfect for a night without a husband.

Now, it just so happens that this week is a tough one for my husband; he has a business dinner every night.  And, while it is hard for him, it means that it is girl cuisine time here.  Break out the sole like my good friends the Cruises!    So, because I am nothing if not prepared, I decide that my sole dinner will be true spa cuisine-completely good for me.  Prepared for what, you ask.  Remember, a talent scout might see me in the market and want me to star with my good friend Tom in a new movie.  Come on- it COULD happen.  Okay, okay, a girl can dream.  Have your people call my people-just make sure it’s after dinner please! 

Sauteed Sole with Tomato, Basil and Red Onion Salsa– serves 2

For the fish:

1 lb of sole filets

Olive oil

Sea salt and pepper

Salt and pepper filets.  Heat olive oil in a large sauté pan until hot.  Add fish and immediately turn the flame down to medium, medium low.  Add the fish and cook for 2-3 minutes a side, until cooked through and tender.  Serve with Tomato, Basil and Red Onion Salsa

Tomato, Basil and Red Onion Salsa

1 c. ripe cherry or grape tomatoes, quartered

3 T. chopped fresh basil

½ small red onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2-3 T.  Olive oil

Sea salt

Pepper

Mix all ingredients together and let stand at room temperature for 45 minutes or so to let flavors blend.

One Comment

  1. katie
    Posted February 24, 2010 at 2:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    YUM!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

