Every dish needs a good PR person….

Family is staying with us.  The house is filled with the shrieks of 2 five-year-old girls, a three-year-old boy, and a ten-year-old boy…oh, and the ten-year-old has two friends over.  In short, the place is a madhouse. 

“What’s for dinner,” my sister-in-law asks.  “Wool steak,” I answer.  She looks at me blankly. From across the room, my ten-year-old flashes a two thumbs up as he shouts “Wool steak!  All right!  I love that dinner!”  My sister-in–law still stares; but, she is smart enough to catch the “DO NOT ASK AGAIN –I’LL EXPLAIN LATER” look in my eyes.  

 You see, in our house wool steak is code for lamb.  Both my children love wool steak.  Both my children hate lamb.  It’s all in the PR.  When you say lamb to my kids visions of cute fluffy white things at petting zoos and in nursery rhymes jump into their heads.  They could not possibly eat that.  Tell them that it is a good old fashioned steak that happens to wear a wool coat, and no problem.  The amusing thing is that though they are both very bright kids, neither has ever asked what a “wool steak” is.  

 So this episode got me thinking about how I convince my children to try new things.  Without realizing it, more often than not, I try to market the meal in a way that will appeal to them. It doesn’t always work, but every now and again you hit one out of the park and end up with a new dinner that everyone will eat.  And, honestly, the adults in my house have fun is fun thinking of the creative sell for the various meals.  Who knows, maybe someday you will see “wool steak” on the menu at Daniel! 

 Marinated and Grilled Wool Steak aka Butterflied Lamb– serves 6-8

1 leg of lamb, butterflied

For the marinade:

6 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 c. dry white wine

2 c. olive oil

¼ c Dijon mustard

3-4 T fresh rosemary, lightly chopped

 Mix all ingredients together.  Place lamb and marinade together in a Ziploc. Refrigerate for 24 hours, turning occasionally. 

 Prepare a grill to medium hot.  Grill the lamb 7-9 minutes a side, basting with marinade occasionally.

2 Comments

  1. Sharon Parson
    Posted February 23, 2010 at 8:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    couldn’t agree more. ellie hates avocado but loves a california roll like there is no tomorrow. she has no taste for all things dairy, including butter, but she will bite your hand off if you touch her “sauted” green beans. love it!

  2. Susan
    Posted February 28, 2010 at 2:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love this post. Clever and so true – I wonder whether mom and dad had code words for any foods we ate???

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

