What would you do?

 It snowed yesterday- 5 plus inches.  It flurried today. My daughter has had a fever for 3 long days.  Our backyard has more snow in it than the mountains outside of Vancouver; perhaps I ought to petition for the Winter Games in 2018?   What do ya think?

 So, what to do for dinner?  Grill, of course!  The answer seems so obvious-at least to me.  My husband thinks I am a lunatic.  I tell him: “Expect the unexpected!  Live on the edge!”   I am feeling a hankering for a bit of Jimmy Buffet-some shrimp or fish, some tropical flavors, an escape.  Any place but my future Olympic facility.  I can almost feel my feet in the sand right now!  Wahoo!

So, I hatch a plan- I am off to the green grocers and the fish market to see what I can see.  There is gorgeous and very fresh swordfish just in.  That’s a no brainer.  Now, off to the green grocers- beautiful blood oranges beckon me.  Hmm….I can work with this.   A jalapeño, fennel bulb, red onion, avocado and some cilantro later- and we were cooking with charcoal!

 Grilled Swordfish with Blood Orange Salsa-serves 4

Adapted from Jonathan Waxman

 2 lbs swordfish- about 1” thick

Olive oil

Sea salt and pepper, to taste

 For the salsa

6 blood oranges

1 jalapeño, roasted and diced

½ small red onion, sliced very thin with a mandolin

½ small fennel bulb, sliced thin with a mandolin

½ cup fresh cilantro, chopped

½ ripe, but firm, avocado, diced

 Roast the jalapeño over a medium flame- or under the broiler, turning, until the skin is blackened and blistered all over.  Place the pepper in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap to let steam for 15 minutes or so. 

Meanwhile, use a sharp knife to slice both ends off the oranges and then to slice the peel off the fruit, making sure to remove all the white pith.  Use the knife to cut between the membranes of the fruit to release the orange segments.   Place the orange piece in a bowl.

Add the onions, fennel, cilantro and avocado to the orange slices.

Peel and seed and dice the jalapeño and add it to the fruit/veggie mix.

Toss with 3-4 T of olive oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Set aside.

 For the fish

Prepare a grill to medium hot.

Rub the swordfish steaks with olive oil, season with salt and pepper.

Cook 3-4 minutes a side- until cooked through- yet tender.

Serve immediately with salsa.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

