Edgy Veggies- Part 2

Sometimes the answer is right in front of you all along.  When you finally open up your eyes and realize it is there- plain as day-and has always been there, you are amazed that it took you so long to see it.  That’s the way I felt about last night’s edgy veggie event. 

We were having steak but I had not figured out with what.  My lettuce was low and wilted-so there went the salad that I had planned on.  And, because we were at the end of a long weekend, I had a mish-mash of seemingly unrelated items-and not really enough of any one to carry the day on it’s own.  In my crisper drawer of my fridge I found:  about a pound of peeled, cubed butternut squash (thank you Whole Foods!), 4 leeks, 3 pears, 4 shallots and garlic.  What to do?  There was no obvious solution; so, I did what any one else would- I experimented.  I decided to roast the whole kit and caboodle together!  The results were stellar.  And, here’s what I learned; it’s okay to roast fruit with veggies-in fact, it is great!  Also, because of the robust quality of the butternut squash, you really don’t need anything more with a steak.  It was light and filling all at the same time.  Not to mention, good for you! 

Roasted Butternut Squash with Leeks, Shallots and Garlic- serves 4

1-1.5 lbs butternut squash, peeled and cubed

3 ripe, but firm pears, peeled, cored and quartered

4 shallots, peeled and halved

10 cloves garlic, peeled

olive oil

sea salt/pepper, to taste

1/3 c. cognac

Preheat oven to 400.

In a large bowl toss the veggies and pears with olive oil, sea salt and pepper.  Transfer to a large casserole.  Roast veggies for 30 minutes, occasionally stirring. 

Add the cognac and roast for an additional 45 minutes to an hour.

One Comment

  1. Miquele
    Posted February 17, 2010 at 12:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    ….and the leeks?
    It sounds delicious! A combination I would never thought of.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

