Foul Weather Gear

I have always loved the taste of grilled meat, chicken and fish.  But, I confess that I did not eat them very much until I had my own kitchen at 21. 

Growing up, my father was always put in charge of the grill.  After all, it was a man’s job…all that fire and heat and smoke!  My father was many wonderful things; but, a cook or grill master was not among them.  As a result, my mother- who preferred her meat medium rare and not bloody, and, without an exterior that resembled a burnt out car- chose to cook things in the oven.  It was easier that way. 

 So, it wasn’t until my senior year in college when I moved off campus to a family friend’s guest cottage-emphasis on “guest”-that I began experimenting with grilling. This adorable, picture perfect “house” had only one flaw-there was no kitchen; there was simply a toaster oven, two burners and a drinks fridge.  It was the perfect set up for a weekend guest; but,  not so good for someone who lived there and liked to cook. I wanted to have friends over for dinner.  I wanted to entertain.  How do you cook for more than one in a toaster oven?  The answer seemed so obvious- I bought myself my first baby Weber grill.

It was love at first grill.  Sure, it took practice.  But, it was worth all the time and energy.  While I lived in that cottage, I grilled in pouring rain, freezing sleet, blinding snow and fabulous sunsets.  Then, I moved to Southern California.  For six year, it was always perfect grill weather in Santa Monica.  My grilling soared to new heights.   I grew more confident as a charcoal griller and grew the size of the kettle; but, it was always a Weber.  I continue to grill in all weather in my current home.  And, I remain a grilling purist: I still believe, for the true grill experience, charcoal is best.  I have tried gas grills but always go back to my Weber. 

But, that is just me.  My message here tonight, as a nor’easter barrels towards me, is grill-anywhere, anyhow, anytime.  Just grill.  There is nothing better.

 Fabulous Grilled Halibut– serves 4

2 lbs Halibut steaks

For Marinade:

¼ c. olive oil

juice of 2 lemons

1 bunch of scallions, whites and light green parts sliced thinly

5 cloves garlic, minced

1-2 T fresh Thyme

sea salt

pepper 

Mix all ingredients.  Marinate Halibut in a Ziploc stored in fridge for at least 4 hours and up to 24.

Prepare grill to medium hot.

Grill fish for 4 minutes a side- or until opaque.  Serve immediately.

One Comment

  1. Miquele Pizzol
    Posted February 13, 2010 at 8:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Couldn’t agree more. Grilling is the way! It makes any meat taste better. Like you, my father is the one in charge of grilling, well was, since last summer when I decided to step up and show him how it’s done. Felling very confident-who wouldn’t with a teacher seven days a week and seven days of grilling-I took the stand and the outcome was all I hoped for. The grilling was a success! (Although, he didn’t agree so).
    I have to say you are the QUEEN of grilling!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

