For Wendy, with love

I made a promise to a friend to showcase some spa cuisine that doesn’t taste like spa cuisine.  I am going to start with the following disclosure: the adults in this house LOVED this dinner; the kids ran for the exit.  Actually, they didn’t make it to the door because I had pasta waiting in the wings.  So, while we had delicious fish- they had tortellini with red sauce from a jar.  Good red sauce from a jar mind you…but still, I think we won the dinner war.  They would disagree, I am sure.  Anyway, back to the meal.

My yesterday started with a slightly cranky husband (sorry honey!) who requested something very light for dinner.  I, demurely-because I am so soft and subtle- suggested fish.  He signed off.  Now, all that was left to do was to figure out what fish and how to make it. 

I think that I must have been French in a previous life, not because I can speak the language-I can’t- but, because I am incapable of planning meals in advance.  I am swayed by whatever food looks good that day at the market, by my mood, by the weather.  Whenever I try to pre-plan more than  a day or two out, it is a disaster.  Stuff goes to waste.  I just can’t do it.  So, I went to the fish market and the Cod was beautiful.  I am not normally a Cod girl.  I consider it kind of bland- but today, it was so pretty it got my attention.  And, I thought to myself, I can work with this.  This is a vehicle.  So, I left with a pound and change of Cod- figuring my children would laugh at me at dinnertime-and went next door to the green grocers to figure out how to make the fish special.

Once inside the produce market, fabulous pink grapefruit and gorgeous avocado caught my eye.  An idea started to form.  I could do a spicy fish with a citrus and avocado salad.  Ooh, that could be good…after all, I am still feeling a slight cold in my sinus region.  Hmmm…

A little lime juice, garlic, cilantro and jalapeño later we had a fabulous dinner that took less that 1/2 hour to create and was good to our waistline.  Now, that is spa cuisine I can live with!

Mean Green Fish with Grapefruit and Avacado Salad– serves 4

For the fish

2 lbs of Cod or Halbut

In a blender, mix the following

1/2 c. olive oil

The finely grated zest from one lime

1/4 c. fresh lime juice- about 3 limes

1/2 c. cilantro leaves, chopped- plus a few more set aside for garnish

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2  small to medium sized jalapeño, diced- about 2 t.

1 t. sea salt

Marinate the fish in a ziploc in the fridge for at least an hour (mine was in there for about 4 hours.)  About a half hour before you want to eat, make the citrus salad.

Preheat the broiler.  Place the fish on a broiling pan- drizzling more marinade over the fish right before placing it in the oven.  Broil fish for about 3-4 minutes a side- or until tender and opaque.  I drizzled more marinade when I flipped the fish to the opposite side

Grapefruit and Avacado Salad

2 large grapefruits

1-2 ripe but firm avocados, peeled and pitted and sliced

olive oil

sea salt

pepper

Using a sharp knife peel the grapefruit, being careful to remove all the white pith.  Then, cut between the membranes to release the grapefruit segments.

Alternate slices of grapefruit with the avocado.  Drizzle with olive oil.  salt and pepper.  Set aside until ready to serve.

.

 

3 Comments

  1. wendy
    Posted February 5, 2010 at 9:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    Flattered and inspired. Will follow in your footsteps over the weekend and let you know how it turns out.

  2. Cathy
    Posted February 5, 2010 at 2:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds so light and delicious after finishing the leftover macaroni (your recipe from “myhometownbronxville”) for lunch. It will be on my menu next week!

  3. katie
    Posted February 5, 2010 at 5:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    just had this for dinner. delish!!! this is a keeper!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

