Eat your veggies

Veggies- you gotta have ’em.  I even love ’em.  Yet, I find vegetables to be the toughest part of a meal to keep fresh and innovative- particularly in the dead of winter.  Perhaps this is because in wintertime I don’t focus on them until late in the meal planning; or, maybe it is that there is just less in the grocery store that looks exciting.  Whatever the reason, this time of the year I often fall into a veggie rut. 

So, lately, I have challenged myself to think differently about my vegetables- to think outside the box.  I have pushed myself  to move past salad, tomatoes, asparagus and broccoli and into new territory- brussel sprouts, fennel, leeks, mushrooms.  It wasn’t easy to move out of my comfort zone…and I am not saying that we still don’t have plenty of salads around here-we do.  But, the results of this experiment have been fantastic and exciting! 

Our favorite of the “edgy veggies” is Roasted Fennel and Leeks.  The fennel and leeks both carmelize and become like veggie candy and the leeks taste remarkably like onion rings.  We like them well done to the point of crispness, but they are just as delicious cooked for less time.  Finally, this dish is super easy to make and yummy at room temperature so it is perfect for entertaining! 

Roasted Fennel and Leeks– 400 oven

2 Fennel bulbs, rinsed, stems and fronds removed, sliced thin

10 leeks- white and light green ends only, trimmed, halved lengthwise and cleaned (to clean simply soak the halved leeks in a bowl of cold water for 10 minutes) 

olive oil

sea salt

pepper

Place the leeks (cut side up) and fennel slices on a large baking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Season the vegetables with salt and pepper.

Place in the oven and bake for 45 minutes to an hour, or until crispy.  Make sure to flip the fennel and leeks at least once (I flip 2-3 times) during the cooking time.

4 Comments

  1. Julie Tye
    Posted February 1, 2010 at 10:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love this idea! Can’t wait to try it!!

  2. Posted February 1, 2010 at 11:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Eeewwwwww. Great blog tho; keep up the nice work CC.

  3. Christine
    Posted February 1, 2010 at 11:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    this looks amazing – will try it this week!!!

    xoxox

  4. katie
    Posted February 3, 2010 at 4:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Absolutely DELISH! My daughter and I took it out of the oven and ate it ALL within minutes.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

